Painful experiences are imprinted in your mind better than joyful ones.

I don’t know why.

I can’t remember the days I was happy with as much details as the days I was sad or angry or hurt.


If we are feeling pain, we look for things to numb it.

We become addicted to those things.

For some, it is sleep, for others it is exercise. But this goes beyond a hobby, to something of an addiction. Because the activity neutralizes our bad feelings.


Few people want to hear about your feelings of loneliness and pain. Fewer people care about what you are saying. Even fewer try to make you feel better.

Because we don’t want to admit it is partially our fault. That we could do something to help. Or we just don’t want to admit we are wrong.

Some of us try to be the few people who care enough to do something towards people we don’t know. I am not that person. But I want to be.


Sage is going through a very trying time in her life.

I have no doubt that she will get out of this. I know she will be different, but I know she will never become someone I don’t want to be friends with.

I am proud to be her friend. I am trying to do what I can, as little as it might be, to help her through the lonely sea and onto happier shores.


This experience has certainly opened our eyes to everyone around us who is suffering in silence.

Because happiness blinds you to the pain of others. My little group of friends was perfect and we didn’t know about anything else happening in our school.

But now we can see how others are hurting, suffering from being alone. Now we are strong enough to admit we can help them. Now we are willing to try.


I commend those who treat strangers the way they treat their friends.

Sometimes they are called naive and gullible, and blamed for being wronged. And sometimes they should know better.

But I also think they are stronger. They have trust their fellow humans. They are willing to risk being wrong about them.


I am not sure I will ever be strong enough to treat strangers the way I do my friends.

But I am going to try.

I am going to try to save other Sages of the world, people who are lost in a foreign world.

01/21/2017

